Skip navigation.

Vacancies in the ESA Climate Office

There are currently two vacancies in the ESA Climate Office, ECSAT, UK for 1) an oceanographer and 2) a science communication specialist. Details of the roles and how to apply are included below. Both roles will be working closely with the Climate Change Initiative Programme, to help implement and promote the programme, as well as working more generally on applications of Earth observation data for climate.

Oceanographer, ref: RT-C/EOP-PM/00082

The ESA Climate Office requires a highly motivated oceanographer/remote sensing scientist to expand the awareness, utilisation and scientific impact of EO data for climate research and applications, in particular for the ocean. The post will include work with ESA's flagship programme on climate, the Climate Change Initiative, to respond to user needs for EO-based information of climate research and climate services. The candidate should be familiar with international climate research (e.g. modelling, adaptation and mitigation activities) and with various international scientific and operational user communities.

View the full job description. 

Climate Science Communication, ref: RT-C/EOP-PM/00081

The ESA Climate Office requires a highly motivated communications officer with a science background to produce content for, and help coordinate, its communications, outreach and education programme. The candidate will ensure effective delivery of the Climate Change Initiative’s knowledge exchange strategy. They will establish a dialogue with specialised user communities from the scientific, public, policy and educational sectors in order to to expand the awareness, utilisation and impact of EO data for climate.

View the full job description.

 

Deadline: *extension until* 15 September 2017 (this may vary with each company)

As these roles are contractor positions there are a number of companies that can bid to host the positions. Interested candidates can apply for the position through the following companies (in alphabetical order):

Ajilon Technology Aerospace Email: technologyaerospace@ajilon.nl or Rob Thijssen rob.thijssen@ajilon.nl

AURORA Technology B.V. Email: Davide Starnone davide.starnone@aurora.nl or visit their vacancies page.

HE Space Email: Corrina Scheepmaker cscheepmaker@hespace.com

RHEA Group Email: Vanessa Lewis v.lewis@rheagroup.com or visit their vacancies page.

Sapienza Email: Molly.McIntosh@sapienzaconsulting.com or Luigi.Orlandi@sapienzaconsulting.com

Telespazio Vega Email: Louise Rees louise.rees@telespazio.com or visit their vacancies page

 

General questions on the positions can be emailed to climate.office@esa.int